Biffy Clyro to visit Edinburgh on ‘MTV Unplugged tour’

Scottish rockers Biffy Clyro have announced details of their first acoustic album – plus a UK and Ireland tour that will see them visit Edinburgh in September.

Although their live shows are best known for their electrifying and explosive energy, the Ayrshire tio have often demonstrated that their songs possess an added poignancy when stripped back to their essence. Now the band have announced details of their first acoustic album, MTV Unplugged: Live At Roundhouse London, which is due to be released on May 25.

Recorded at London’s famous Roundhouse venue last year, the set represented the UK relaunch of the iconic MTV Unplugged series.

Biffy Clyro follow in the footsteps of influential rock bands who had previously performed as part of the series, notably Nirvana, Oasis, Pearl Jam, R.E.M. and George Michael.

The set is rich with favourites from the Biffy catalogue.

Machines is already long established as a highlight of the band’s live shows as Simon Neil performs accompanied by a single acoustic guitar, while the likes of Many of Horror, Re-arrange and Medicine are all natural fits for an Unplugged performance. Yet the band also flourish with stripped-back performances of songs that were more aggressive and dramatic in their original form, such as The Captain, Black Chandelier and Bubbles.

The album also presents some special treats for Biffy fans. A stunning take on the Beach Boys’ classic God Only Knows is an undoubted highlight, while a brand new original song is also included in the shape of Different Kind of Love.

MTV Unplugged: Live At Roundhouse London will be released on digital, CD, CD/DVD and a special vinyl/CD/DVD boxset.

Pre-orders are now available from, with the new Unplugged version of ‘Many of Horror’ provided as an instant download.

Everyone who pre-orders the album from the official Biffy Clyro store will subsequently receive a pre-sale code for the band’s MTV Unplugged tour which commences in September.

The MTV Unplugged tour presents a chance for a wider audience to see Biffy Clyro play a rare full-length acoustic set in magnificent surroundings.

Tickets for the dates, listed below, go on general sale from May 11.

15th – Dublin, The Helix
16th – Belfast, Waterfront
18th – Cardiff, St. David’s Hall
19th – Birmingham, Symphony Hall
21st – Edinburgh, Usher Hall
22nd – Manchester, Manchester Opera House
24th – London, Royal Albert Hall

In addition, the tour will also visit France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland and the Netherlands.

The MTV Unplugged: Live At Roundhouse London tracklisting is:

‘The Captain’
‘Drop It’
‘Black Chandelier’
‘Folding Stars’
‘Different Kind Of Love’
‘God Only Knows’
‘Small Wishes’
‘Many of Horror’

Leave a Comment