Listen to new Squeeze single Patchouli

Ahead of their visit to Edinburgh later this month, South London new-wave legends Squeeze have shared the second single from forthcoming new album The Knowledge. Listen to the track, titled Patchouli, below.

Chris Difford was “inspired by watching bandmate Glenn Tilbrook’s Instagram pictures of him walking his dogs in Maryon Wilson Park,” stating he “imagined two people reuniting there somewhere in the background.

It’s The Yardbirds, it’s the Troggs but most of all it’s Squeeze,” he says.

Speaking about the new album, which is out on Friday, Glenn says: “It is such a pleasure to say that in 2017 we have delivered our best ever record.”

Chris recently observed, “playing back the album I can feel the love we still have as songwriters, and for each other. It’s been some journey, and I hope it goes on for many years to come.”

Produced by Glenn, Andrew Jones and Laurie Latham, The Knowledge was recorded at 45 RPM Studios in Charlton, and finds Glenn and Chris once again in the company of drummer Simon Hanson and keyboard wizard Stephen Large, plus a couple of new faces; Yolanda Charles on bass and Steve Smith on percussion.

Squeeze visit Edinburgh’s Usher Hall on Tuesday, 31 October.

Watch the video for first single Innocence In Paradise, and listen to second single Patchouli, below.

Squeeze 2017 Tour Dates:

Thursday 12th October – Brighton Dome

Friday 13th October – Colston Hall, Bristol

Saturday 14th October – De Montford Hall, Leicester

Monday 16th October – Pavilion Theatre, Bournemouth

Tuesday 17th October – G Live, Guildford

Thursday 19th October – Regent Theatre, Ipswich

Friday 20th October – Nottingham Royal Concert Hall

Saturday 21st October – London Indigo 2

Monday 23rd October – Hexagon Theatre, Reading

Tuesday 24th October – Southend Cliffs Pavilion

Thursday 26th October – Sheffield City Hall

Friday 27th October – Cambridge Corn Exchange

Saturday 28th October – IC, Harrogate

Monday 30th October – Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Tuesday 31st October – Usher Hall, Edinburgh

Tuesday 2nd November – Sage 1, Gateshead

Friday 3rd November – Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Saturday 4th November – Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Monday 6th November – Royal Albert Hall, London

Leave a Comment