New Prince album of unreleased demos announced

Prince’s estate has announced a new 15-track album, featuring the original versions of songs that he gave to other artists – including the Bangles, Vanity 6, Sheila E, and more.

The Originals LP will stream on Tidal from June 7–20, before getting a physical release via Warner Bros on June 21.

The album will largely comprise of songs from the late singer’s legendary vault, and spans the period from 1981 and 1991.

It includes his original takes on Sheila E’s The Glamorous Life, the Bangles’ Manic Monday, and Sinead O’Connor’s Nothing Compares 2 U.

Lesser heard tracks include his version Kenny Rogers’ You’re My Love and Vanity 6’s Make-Up.

All the tracks on Originals were hand-picked by Jay-Z and Troy Carter. You can check out the tracklisting in full below.

01 Sex Shooter (1983)
02 Jungle Love (1983)
03 Manic Monday (1984)
04 Noon Rendezvous (1984)
05 Make-Up (1981)
06 100 MPH (1984)
07 You’re My Love (1982)
08 Holly Rock (1985)
09 Baby, You’re a Trip (1982)
10 The Glamorous Life (1983)
11 Gigolos Get Lonely Too (1982)
12 Love… Thy Will Be Done (1991)
13 Dear Michelangelo (1985)
14 Wouldn’t You Love to Love Me? (1981)
15 Nothing Compares 2 U (1984)

Leave a Comment