Roddy Woomble announces rescheduled live dates – including Edinburgh gig

Idlewild mainman Roddy Woomble has confirmed new live dates for Autumn 2020 – including a rescheduled Edinburgh gig.

Roddy had been due to tour the UK from 26 March to 6 May in support of upcoming EP: Everyday Sun. In light of the recent events, all dates have now been re-scheduled to the following:

Thu 28 May 20 – Strathaven Frets Acoustic @ Strathaven Hotel
Fri 05 Jun 20 – Dundee Dundee University’s Chaplaincy Centre
Sat 06 Jun 20 – Wakefield Long Division
Thu 23 Jul 20 – Chester St Mary’s Creative Space
Fri 24 Jul 20 – Topcliffe Deer Shed Festival
Sat 25 Jul 20 – Newcastle Cumberland Arms
Sun 09 Aug 20 – Sunderland Lamplight Festival
Sat 15 Aug 20 – Edinburgh Summerhall / Edinburgh Fringe
Thu 10 Sep 20 – New Galloway Castle Douglas Catstrand Arts Centre
Fri 11 Sep 20 – Arbroath Webster Memorial Theatre
Sat 12 Sep 20 – Coventry The Tin Music & Acts
Sun 13 Sep 20 – Guildford The Boilerroom
Mon 14 Sep 20 – Brighton Komedia Studio
Tue 15 Sep 20 – Cardiff Clwb Ifor Bach
Wed 16 Sep 20 – Middlesborough Middlesbrough Town Hall
Thu 17 Sep 20 – Saltaire The Salt Factory
Fri 18 Sep 20 – Reading South Street Arts Centre
Sat 19 Sep 20 – Winchester The Railway Inn

Everyday Sun, which you can listen to below, is the latest single from Roddy, and it is the first track taken from a forthcoming EP of the same name – out 27 March 2020.

The song is a hazy rumination, where observations on meaninglessness sit alongside optimism. Written alongside frequent collaborator and Idlewild bandmate Andrew Mitchell and recorded in the latter’s Dundee studio, it marks a departure from Roddy’s traditional working methods with either piano or guitar.

“I greatly enjoyed both of Andrew’s instrumental solo albums (under his Andrew Wasylyk moniker), and really liked the idea of trying to read some of my words over his compositions,” says Roddy.

Andrew would send over ideas, essentially basic beats, and Roddy would construct lyrics around them.

“It was interesting just to have an electronic drumbeat to base my words around,” he says of the experience.

A new style of delivery, neither spoken word nor straight-forward singing, adds to the mystique and texture; many lines were also rearranged to strip them of conventional meaning and narrative.

“Do our souls cause the desert to exist?” he asks, later lamenting how “everyone lives in a state of forgetfulness” over woozy synth washes and a languid beat.

That intersection of memory and technology provided inspiration for film director Danny Grant, who shot the single’s accompanying video.

“I was watching a documentary from the early 1980s that had a section processed by video synthesizer, and was discussing how the abstraction of the processed images are an interesting representation of memory,” Grant says.

“The tech was pretty raw but there was something compelling about the quality of it, and as soon as I heard Everyday Sun I thought of those images. There’s some visuals taken from the lyrics – built up cities, empty spaces – and some abstract images, all processed to try and evoke the haze of a distant memory.

Minimal and hypnotic, it’s neither song nor poem, and serves as the perfect taster for the rest of Roddy’s new EP and forthcoming UK tour with Andrew Mitchell.

“Spontaneous and creative” is how he describes their collaboration – qualities now applied to the latest chapter of one of Scotland’s most acclaimed artists.

Leave a Comment