Sigur Rós Black Mirror songs to be released on vinyl

The two new songs Icelandic post-rockers Sigur Rós wrote for Netflix’s speculative science fiction series Black Mirror are coming to vinyl.

The Reykjavik band, who went down a storm during their two-night stint at the Edinburgh Playhouse during the EIF in 2016, recorded the songs for Black Mirror’s much-acclaimed Hang The DJ episode.

The music was put together by frequent Sigur Rós collaborator Alex Somers and consists of two atmospheric new tracks from the band – Match and End.

According to Pitchfork, Somers’ soundtrack, including the Sigur Rós collaborations, will soon be released on vinyl by Invada Records.

There is currently no release date, but more details are expected to follow soon.

You can listen to both songs below.

Earlier this month, Sigur Rós soundtracked a massive projection art installation in their native Iceland as a part of the Reykjavik Winter Lights Festival.

Leave a Comment