Sigur Rós duo Jónsi and Alex Somers to visit Edinburgh on ‘Riceboy Sleeps’ tour

Sigur Rós frontman Jónsi and his partner/collaborator Alex Somers will visit Edinburgh this summer to celebrate the tenth anniversary of their joint album Riceboy Sleeps.

The Icelandic duo’s ambient offering was released in July 2009, consisting of nine tracks and featuring contributions from both the string quartet Amiina and the Kópavogsdætur Choir.

“After all these years and having never fully realised our album in a live environment we are so excited to come play a few special shows,” Jónsi and Somers said in a statement.

“We’ll be playing in some really beautiful rooms and we can’t wait to share this experience together.”

As well as Edinburgh’s Usher Hall, the duo will also perform in London, Gateshead and Manchester this year. You can see their full touring schedule below.

11 Sydney, Australia – Sydney Opera House

6 Paris, France – Philharmonie de Paris
8 London – The Barbican Centre
11 Edinburgh – Usher Hall
12 Gateshead – Sage Gateshead
14 Manchester – Manchester Opera

11 Seattle, WA – Paramount Theatre
14 San Francisco – Golden Gate Theatre
15 Los Angeles, CA – Orpheum Theatre
18 Denver, CO – Paramount Theatre
21 Chicago, IL – Copernicus Center
23 Montreal, Quebec – Théâtre Maisonneuve
25 Toronto, Ontario – Queen Elizabeth Theatre
28 Washington, D.C. – Lincoln Theatre
30 Boston, MA – The Wilbur
31 Brooklyn, NY – Kings Theatre

Last week, Sigur Rós announced a reissue of ‘Ágætis Byrjun (A Good Beginning)’ to celebrate its 20th anniversary.

The Reykjavik band, who went down a storm during their two-night stint at the Edinburgh Playhouse during the EIF in 2016, released the album in 1999, and it gave them their big breakthrough.

It has since been certified gold in the UK and platinum in their home country.

The new editions will be released in various formats, including a seven-vinyl limited edition deluxe box set, a four-CD release, and a double vinyl version. The vinyl box set will include demos, early sketches of songs, and live recordings.

The new editions of Ágætis Byrjun will be released on June 21 via Krunk Records. They are available to pre-order now from Sigur Rós’ official website.

Leave a Comment