AAA’s Hottest Record Of The Week – On Hold, by The xx

Rumours have been swirling around all week that The xx were about to drop their eagerly-awaited third album – but their forthcoming newbie, titled I See You, won’t be released until January 13.

The album has been preceded by a single, On Hold, which marks a slight change of sound for the Mercury Prize-winners.

Like almost everything the three-piece of Romy Madley-Croft, Oliver Sims and Jamie Smith have released together, it’s bloody brilliant.

As such, it was a no-brainer to make On Hold AAA’s Hottest Record of the Week – and you can listen to it below.

I See You is a 10-track offering recorded in New York, Los Angeles, Reykjavik, London and Marfa, Texas.

The album will demonstrate “a more outward-looking, open and expansive approach”.

Romy spoke to Julie Adenuga on Beats 1 about the track, saying: “I’ve listened to it a lot of times thinking, how can I change it, how can it be different, is this right, is this good.

“To finally just hear it and let go of it, and for it just be in everyone else’s hands, I can’t wait.”

The full tracklisting for I See You is as follows:

1. Dangerous
2. Say Something Loving
3. Lips
4. A Violent Noise
5. Performance
6. Replica
7. Brave for You
8. On Hold
9. I Dare You
10. Test Me


Leave a Comment