Adele, Damon Albarn and Simple Minds win at Ivor Novello Awards

Adele was today (May 19) named songwriter of the year at the prestigious Ivor Novello Awards, which recognise achievement in songwriting.

The Hello hitmaker was honoured for her multi-million selling album, 25, which was released last year.

The 28-year-old Londoner was unable to collect the award in person, as she is currently on tour in Europe.

But in a video message, Adele said he was “very grateful” to have won again.

“I won it on my last album as well… but I was secretly pregnant, so I didn’t enjoy the night too well,” she added.

“To win it this time is truly, truly humbling.”

damonBlur and Gorillaz mastermind Damon Albarn, pictured, scooped the lifetime achievement award, in recognition of an eclectic body of work that spans several genres.

Graham Coxon, collecting the award on behalf of his Blur bandmate, said 48-year-old Albarn had already “fitted in two lifetimes of work… so far.”

Other awards went to Bristolian trip-hop pioneers Portishead, Canadian crooner Bryan Adams and Dublin indie-folk band The Villagers, whose album Darling Arithmetic took the album of the year gong.

The award for best song musically and lyrically went to Wasn’t Expecting That by Jamie Lawson, who beat off competition from Wolf Alice and Ed Sheeran.

The classical award went to Oliver Knussen, who wrote and conducted his first symphony at the age of 15 and has been a champion of new music ever since.

British hitmaker Wayne Hector won the international achievement award in recognition of two decades of chart success.

Lengandary Scottish rockers Simple Minds won outstanding song collection, while Manchester indie band Happy Mondays took away the the inspiration prize.

“After 30 years, to finally be recognised for writing a song – it feels great,” frontman Shaun Ryder told the BBC.

The Ivor Novello awards are voted for by songwriters, with judges this year including Alison Moyet, Sharleen Spiteri, Wretch 32, Cathy Dennis, Joan Armatrading, Guy Chambers and Charlotte Church.


Full list of nominees and winners

Best song musically and lyrically

  • Wasn’t Expecting That – Jamie Lawson
  • Bloodstream – Ed Sheeran
  • Bros – Wolf Alice

Best contemporary song

  • All My Friends – Snakehips ft Tinashe & Chance The Rapper
  • Cargo – Roots Manuva
  • Shutdown – Skepta

Most performed work

  • Hold Back The River – James Bay
  • Hold My Hand – Jess Glynne
  • King – Years & Years

Best album

  • Darling Arithmetic – Villagers
  • In Colour – Jamie xx
  • Matador – Gaz Coombes

Best film score

  • Ex Machina
  • Pan
  • The Duke of Burgundy

Best television soundtrack

  • London Spy
  • And Then There Were None
  • From Darkness

Lifetime achievement: Damon Albarn

Outstanding song collection: Simple Minds

PRS for Music outstanding contribution to British music: Portishead

PRS for Music special international award: Bryan Adams

Songwriter of the year: Adele

The Ivors classical music award: Oliver Knussen

The Ivors inspiration award: Happy Mondays