Conor Oberst announces new album Salutations – listen to reworked version of A Little Uncanny

Just weeks before his eagerly-awaited visit to Edinburgh, Bright Eyes singer Conor Oberst has announced the release of a new album – five months after his last solo offering.

The prolific Nebraskan, whose last record was 2016’s Ruminations, will return with a companion piece titled Salutations.

The record will feature guest contributions from a host of artists, including Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson.

Salutations, out March 17, will feature all 10 songs from Ruminations — reworked with full-band arrangements — and seven additional tracks.

Oberst also released A Little Uncanny, the first track from the new album – and you can check out the fabulous VHS-type imagery below.

The songs on Ruminations, according to Oberst, were always meant to be heard with a band; he says the enthusiastic response to the solo versions led him to go a different route.

Now, they’ll be heard the way they were first intended to sound, with the help of an all-star backing band consisting of The Felice Brothers and veteran drummer Jim Keltner. (Guests on Salutations include Gillian Welch, M. Ward, Maria Taylor, Blake Mills and Jim James, among others.)

As previously reported on AAA Edinburgh, Oberst will perform songs from the album when he visits the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh on 3 February.

Oberst will also play dates in London (1 Feb), Manchester (2 Feb) and Dublin (5 Feb) in support of Ruminations, which is out now on Nonesuch Records and available to download on iTunes.


Leave a Comment