The Jesus & Mary Chain slam modern guitar music

Ahead of the release of their first album in 18 years, The Jesus & Mary Chain‘s Jim Reid has hit out over the state of modern guitar music.

The legendary Scottish band are set to release newbie Damage & Joy on 23 March – and they reckon that in the time they’ve been away, rock and guitar music has seen a sharp decline.

“There’s not much of guitar music left at the moment, I don’t hear many guitar bands out there,” frontman Jim Reid told NME. “It’s kinda pushed underground, guitar music seems to be limping at the moment.

“You can’t tell the difference now between a pop act and a rock band, the production makes them almost identical.”

Discussing how the band got back together after many years apart to make a new album, Reid told NME: “The idea of doing a new record has been knocking about for a bit now.

We got back together in 2007 and it was talked about then – we kinda bickered, William and I, about how to record it and where to record it, and that kinda dragged on a bit.

“It all got shoved onto the back burner, then in the last couple of years we realised we were kinda in agreement, strangely enough, about the mechanics of how to approach it, so hey presto.”

The Jesus & Mary Chain’s upcoming UK are Ireland tour dates are below.

You can check out the video for Always Sad here.

Thu March 23 2017 – Northumbria University, Newcastle upon Tyne
Sat March 25 2017 – Academy, Manchester
Mon March 27 2017 – Church, Leeds
Tue March 28 2017 – O2 Academy, Leicester
Wed March 29 2017 – O2 Academy, Bristol
Fri March 31 2017 – O2 Institute, Birmingham
Sat April 01 2017 – O2 Academy, Bournemouth
Sun April 02 2017 – O2 Academy, Oxford
Mon April 03 2017 – Junction 1, Cambridge
Wed April 05 2017 – O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
Thu April 06 2017 – De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill On Sea
Fri April 07 2017 – Academy, Dublin

Leave a Comment