Listen to new song by The Jesus and Mary Chain

Scottish noise-pop legends The Jesus and Mary Chain have shared a new song from their first album in nearly two decades – and you can listen to it here.

The track, Amputation, features on their forthcoming seventh studio album, Damage And Joy, announced earlier today.

The record marks the group’s first since 1998’s Munki and was produced by Youth (Killing Joke co-founder Martin Glover), who also plays bass on the record.

The album will also include contributions from the Jesus and Mary Chain’s touring drummer, Brian Young, and ex-Lush bassist Phil King.

“We started to – can you believe? – listen to each other a bit more,” singer Jim Reid said in a statement. “In the last couple of years, we’ve buried the hatchet to some degree, and thankfully not into each other.

“Most people who know us would say that we haven’t mellowed that much. I think it was to do with the fact, dare I say it, that wisdom comes with age. Let’s live and let live, and let’s take each other’s opinions into account.”

Amputation premiered today (Dec 8) on Steve Lamacq’s BBC 6 Music show.

The Jesus and Mary Chain, Damage and Joy Track Listing

1. “Amputation”
2. “War on Peace”
3. “All Things Pass”
4. “Always Sad”
5. “Song for a Secret”
6. “The Two of Us”
7. “Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)”
8. “Mood Rider”
9. “Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)”
10. “Get on Home”
11. “Facing Up to the Facts”
12. “Simian Split”
13. “Black and Blues”
14. “Can’t Stop the Rock”


Leave a Comment