Sparks announce new album, European tour, and Edinburgh gig

Los Angeles art-rock duo Sparks will return with their first solo album in eight years in September – and they will visit Edinburgh’s Queen’s Hall just a couple of weeks after its release.

Musical mavericks Sparks – Californian brothers Ron and Russell Mael – will release Hippopotamus on September, 8 on BMG, accompanied by the first European dates of The Hippopotamus Tour.

Recorded in Los Angeles, Hippopotamus sees them take the pop form, shake it up, and create an album that is adventurous, fresh and idiosyncratically ‘Sparks’.

Described as “the smartest, most consistently evolving band in the history of rock”, and internationally acclaimed as pop pioneers, Sparks’ music has always been innovative and instantly identifiable.

In 2015, Sparks released a collaborative album with Scottish indie heroes Franz Ferdinand as FFS.

The title track for forthcoming newbie Hippopotamus, first played on BBC Radio 6 Music, was released as a single at midnight Friday, 24 March after the band performed it, as well as three other songs from the album, in their set at the 6 Music Festival in Glasgow.

Tickets for Sparks European tour, including their Edinburgh gig, go on pre-sale tomorrow (Wednesday, 29 March) and on general sale this Friday (31 March). See www.allsparks.com for ticket details

You can watch the video for lead single Hippopotamus below.

Sparks European dates, with more to be added…

Monday 07 Aug Vega Theater, Copenhagen
Tuesday 08 Aug Rockefeller, Oslo, Norway
Thursday 10 Aug Cirkus, Stockholm, Sweden
Saturday 12 Aug Flow Festival, Helsinki, Finland
Monday 11 Sep Lucerna Music Bar, Prague
Tuesday 12 Sep Columbia Theatre, Berlin
Thursday 14 Sep Paard van Troje, Den Haag
Friday 15 Sep Den Atelier, Luxembourg
Saturday 16 Sep Ancienne Belgique, Brussels
Wednesday 20 Sep Queens Hall, Edinburgh
Friday 22 Sep O2 Ritz, Manchester
Saturday 23 Sep Rock City, Nottingham
Sunday 24 Sep O2 Institute 1, Birmingham
Tuesday 26 Sep 02 Academy, Bristol
Wednesday 27 Sep O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London

Leave a Comment