The Strokes release new song, Oblivius – listen here

Gotham’s finest, aka The Strokes, today announced a new EP and premiered their first new song for three years, titled Oblivius – listen to it below.

The band’s newbie was aired for the very first time during frontman Julian Casablancas’ radio show this afternoon (May 26).

The New York City Cops hitmakers have also appeared in a video interview uploaded to YouTube. Watch that below.

The EP will feature three songs: Oblivius, Drag Queen and Threat of Joy, plus a remix of Oblivius by the band’s Fab Moretti.

Earlier in the day, a trailer for Casablancas’ new radio show on US radio station Sirius XMU had teased that it would feature “The world premiere of brand new music from The Strokes.” And this it did.

The Strokes haven’t released a new album since 2013’s Comedown Machine, but were expected to do so this year.

The New Yorkers will be performing in their home city on May 31, and will return days later to perform at NYC’s annual Governor’s Ball.

The band had already teased about releasing new music ahead of their live comeback.

“You’ll just have to wait and see,” Albert Hammond Jr. told a fan on Twitter when asked if the band would play unreleased material. Their headlining set takes place June 3.

The new song’s release follows a Strokes video which was displayed on the side of buildings in London and New York.

The video, entitled ‘Future Present Past’, featured a figure running on a track with the words ‘future’, ‘present’ and ‘past’ across the screen.

In 2009, The Strokes’ 2001 debut album Is This It  topped the 100 Greatest Albums Of The Decade list in a poll by NME magazine.